Books with Good Movie Counterparts

pic

The Spectacular Now

The combination of spot-on casting, similar story line, and awesome soundtrack makes for a great movie version of The Spectacular Now. Quite frankly, I have no idea how they could possibly have made a movie that better satisfies my yearning for a book to be turned into reality. You should definitely watch the movie and read the book for there is seldom any movie that sticks to the book this closely.

Romeo and Juliet

There are so many film versions of Romeo and Juliet, but I am going to be referencing the 1996 version with Leonardo DiCaprio. A lot of people despise this representation of Romeo and Juliet, but I personally think there is nothing better. It is modern yet sticks to the script and portrays the central message of the play beautifully. And Leo DiCaprio is a teeny tiny part in my drive to pick this because…duh!

The Fault in Our Stars

I have no idea how anyone could possibly dislike The Fault in Our Stars, book or movie. It is a perfect tale of sadness and teenage angst so naturally it would make an excellent film. This movie is very emotional and personal and sweet. It perfectly transitions the book on a screen. I could not have done any better with the casting myself which I rarely admit. You will most definitely enjoy the movie at least close to as much as the book.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I am utterly obsessed with The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It has the perfect cast with every actor capturing the essence of their character perfectly. The movie brings brings the scenes to life in the best way. It makes you envy the lives of the characters even though they’re not the most ideal of lifestyles. I just love The Perks of Being a Wallflower, both book and movie.

The Great Gatsby

I have no idea what I would do without the movie version of The Great Gatsby. It’s fast-paced and colorful just like the roarin’ 20s. I am clueless to the notion of how someone could possibly not want to hop in a time machine and take a ride back to the 1920s after watching this movie. The all-star cast, inspired editing, and superb soundtrack brings this book that’s already great to the big screen in the most awesome way. The Great Gatsby is my go to movie to instantly brighten my mood, and I’m so glad Baz Luhrman made it.

To Kill a Mockingbird

This classic book and movie obviously had to make this list. The movie sticks to the plot and is everything I could possibly hope for. This is easily the most loved book-movie combination in the world, and there’s not much else you can say about it. It’s just awesome!

Harry Potter

I definitely saved the best and most obvious choice for last in this list. If you don’t already know that both the Harry Potter books and movies are to be worshipped, I don’t know where you’ve been for the past fifteen odd years. Harry Potter is the example every director of a book to movie should follow. There are only about two complaints one could possibly have about the movies, so I would say Harry Potter is a superb book with a just as superb counterpart.

Leave a Reply

